A Bird In Hand

One day on the streets of London (in 1970) walked a young rough boy, a street lad. He had a bird cage and inside it was a sorrowful looking bird. An old clergyman, peregrinating around, met the lad and asked what he was going to do with the bird.

“Well, I think I’ll play with it for a while, and then when I’m tired of playing with it, I’ll kill it.

Moved with compassion for the bird, the clergyman offered to buy it. “You don’t want this bird mister, its just a bleeding field sparrow.” He bought it anyway (for a dear price of £2, in 1970), and let the bird go..

I tell you this true story because this is analogous to what happened to you and I. An evil specter called Sin had us caged up and unable to escape.

So Jesus asked Sin, “What are you doing with those people in the cage?”

“These people, I’m going to teach them to hate each other, have them chase after licentiousness; I’ll play with them until I’m tired of them and then I’ll kill them,” Sin said.

Jesus asked, “How much to buy them back?”

Sin: “You don’t want these people, Jesus. They’ll only hate You and spit on You. They’ll even nail You to a cross. But if You do want to buy them, it’ll cost You all Your tears and blood – Your very life!”

That, ladies and gentlemen, is just what Jesus did for us on the cross. He paid the ultimate, immeasurable price for all who would believe, that we might be free from the penalty of death.

If you’re here today and you don’t know Jesus as your Lord and Saviour, and today you want Jesus to set you free from Sin’s cage so you can experience His love, (or you’re born again, but you’ve been caught up in the world of sin and today you want to rededicate your life to Christ), let’s pray this prayer:

“Dear Lord Jesus, I admit I’ve fallen into sin and I believe you died to save me from death into life eternal. Come and be Lord and Saviour of my life. Teach me to live a victorious life in You. Thank you, Amen!!”

Congratulations! And welcome to the family! There is rejoicing in heaven because of you!

(We’ll so love to hear from you if you prayed the prayer above. We have a gift for you. Kindly fill out the contact sheet and we’ll get in touch). We’re glad to have you in the family of Christ.

If you’re already born again, do share this with your friends and family, on your social media, etc.; you just may win a soul for Jesus. God bless you and favor you.

#FridaySalvationSeries

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑